the exhibition

behind the scenes




The ACMI-curated blockbuster exhibition celebrates the work of the world's most innovative and influential videogame designers, including Peter Molyneux, Warren Spector,Tim Schafer and more.

The exhibition has closed at ACMI and is touring internationally.

Game Masters has visited
Te Papa, National Museum of New Zealand, Wellington, New Zealand December 2012 – April 2013
Museum of Applied Arts and Science, Sydney, Australia December 2013 – July 2014
National Museums of Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland December 2014 – April 2015
Halmstad Arena, Halmstad, Sweden May 2015 – August 2015

View more information on this and other ACMI touring exhibitions

Replay Credits

Thank you for playing


The Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) would like to thank each of the designers, developers and publishers who have worked with us on the development of Game Masters for their exceptional generosity in devoting time and materials to making this exhibition possible. The exhibition would not have been achieved without their contributions:

Blizzard Entertainment, Inc., Jonathan Blow, Paulina Bozek, Capy, Eric Chahi, Jakub Dvorský, Firemint, Halfbrick, Introversion Software, Hideo Kojima, Masaya Matsuura, Tetsuya Mizuguchi, Peter Molyneux, Yuji Naka and the Sonic Team, Nintendo, Marcus ‘Notch’ Persson , Alex Rigopulos & Eran Egozy, Tim Schafer, Warren Spector, Yu Suzuki, Erik Svedäng, thatgamecompany, The Behemoth , TT Games, Fumito Ueda, and Will Wright. We also thank the following individuals, without whose support the exhibition would not have been realised:

Brandon Boyer; John Baez, The Behemoth; Pedro Batista; Chris Davey, Tim Campbell, Michael Bybee and Peter-John Russell, Blizzard Entertainment, Inc.; Nathan Vella, Capy; Greg Rice and Laura O’Brien, Double Fine Productions; Kristina Kirk, Disney; Jeff Wong, Activision; Craig Derrick, LucasArts; Bryan Neider and Wendy Ng, EA ; Sam Mayo, Firemint; Brad Giblin, Film Victoria ; Phil Larsen, Halfbrick; Cheryl DalPozzal, Harmonix Music Systems; Joel Hopkins; Mark Morris, Introversion; Christine Kogure, Sean Eyestone, Ken Hashimoto, and Christopher Kotake (Johns), Konami; Cathy Campos, Lionhead Studios; Daniel Kaplan, Mojang; Carl Goodman, MOMI, New York; Dewi Tanna, NanaOn-sha; Simon Neofitou; Greg Arthurton, Yuji Bando, Nintendo Australia; Lindsay Gray, Q Entertainment; Darren Macbeth and Rebecca Skoulos, Sega Australia; Yukari Takeuchi and Takuya Kishimoto, Sega Japan ; Rebecca Rice and Steve Wherrett, Sony Australia; Yuri Nakayama, Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.; Anthony Price, Square Enix; Jonathan Smith, TT Games; Kellee Santiago, thatgamecompany; Nicolas Bouchet and Grégory Spielmann, Ubisoft; Joel Graham (Aus) and Kehau Rodenhurst (US), Warner Bros.

Many individuals and teams across ACMI have passionately and tirelessly contributed to the realisation of this exhibition.

Exhibition Programs

Conrad Bodman – Head of Exhibitions
Chris Harris – Exhibitions Manager
Emma McRae - Curator
Fiona Trigg – Assistant Curator
Ronan MacEwan – Curatorial Assistant
Jacob Paris – Curatorial Intern

Exhibition Consultants

Helen Stuckey and David Surman - Consultant Curators
Jason Hill, Christian McCrea, Antony Reed (CEO, GDAA), and Ron Curry, (CEO, IGEA) - Exhibition Advisors
Andy Welburn (Andy’s Arcades) - Arcade Consultant
Hiroshi Masuyama - Japanese Consultant
Michael Connor - US Consultant

Exhibition Design

Clare Cousins Architects - Exhibition Designers
Niklas Pajanti and James Hebblethwaite - Exhibition Lighting Designers


James Rewell – Head of Design
Felicity Hayward – Graphic Designer

Exhibition Production

Angeletta Leggio - Registrar
Ben Cram - Exhibitions Coordinator - Video Games and Digital Content
Sean Doyle - Macintosh Systems Administrator
Glenn Willey - Exhibition Technician
Catherine Pyers - Exhibitions Project Coordinator
Miriam Hirschfeld - Exhibitions Project Officer

Media Production

Kim Montgomery - Media Studio Manager
Csilla Csongvay - Media Studio Line Producer
Jessica Beirne - Online Project Producer
Richard Greenhalgh – Media Production Coordinator
James Arneman - Media Studio Production Technician
Mike Kenneally - Media Studio Production Technician
Dean Robb - Digital Content Technician
Paul Cuthbert - Head of Digital & Technology
Francesco Ramigni - ICT Manager
Sujit Nair - Business System Support Officer
Matt Blackwood – Web Content Coordinator
Tan Le – Online Developer

Marketing and Communications

Richard Zimmermann – Marketing and Development Director
Kristen Eckhardt – Marketing Manager
Cory Parfett – Communications Manager
Nicole Sargent – Web Marketing Manager
Claire Butler – Communications Advisor
Simone Ubaldi – Marketing Coordinator
Alicia Mellowship – Marketing Coordinator

Public Programs

Gael McIndoe – Head of Public Programs
Helen Simondson – Screen Events Manager
Christine Evely – Education Manager
Lisetta Moscardo – Screen Events Programmer
Susan Bye – Education Programmer
Vincent Trundle – Education Programmer
Ashley Hall – Education Deliverer
Angela Pye – Public Programs Coordinator
Shaun Larkin – Screen Events Coordinator
Hermione Merry – Regional Events Coordinator

Film Programs

Richard Sowada – Head of Film Programs
Spiro Economopoulos - Film Programmer

Our sincere thanks to our exhibition sponsors and partners:

acmi_vic_logo sponsors carter-digital